Judgements associated with a conviction for DWI in Texas can be serious. These can include misdemeanor or even felony charges. The fines can go as high as $10,000 depending on the specifics of the accident and being accused of a crime may not be the end of your troubles. For example, if another person had property damage or sustained injuries in the accident, you may be looking at a civil lawsuit as well.
Your driver’s license can also be suspended anywhere from a few days to up to two years and imprisonment can include time behind bars of up to eight years. If the term HTV has been assessed with your drunk driving allegation, you most certainly need support from a knowledgeable Fort Bend DWI lawyer immediately. HTV is a Bureau of Motor Vehicle term used to describe habitual traffic offenders. It is for a person with a serious history of traffic related violations.
If you operate a vehicle while being categorized as an HTV, your driving privileges could be suspended for life if you are caught breaking the law. There are some exemptions in Texas, including a specialized driving privileges (SPD) program that can avoid many of these suspensions.
Specialized driving privileges have specific conditions such as being able to drive to school or work while maintaining insurance. Other restrictions may apply depending on your individual situation but you need to take action quickly after being accused of a DWI to increase the chances that you will be able to exercise these rights and have the specific driving privileges that may allow you to keep your job. In the wake of a DWI charge, it may seem as though most things are changing but getting the support of a lawyer who will do everything possible to protect your future, including your eligibility to operate a vehicle, is extremely important.
Most people lose their license at least temporarily after a DUI or DWI. Did you know that if you’re caught driving when your license is suspended that additional penalties may apply? You can’t afford to take the risk, but you may be able to get a hardship license.
A first-time offender who has been accused of driving while under the influence of alcohol, who failed the chemical test, may be eligible for an Texas hardship license. This is only applicable after the first 30 days of the suspension period and the license can be suspended for a minimum of 90 days or up to two years. Issuing a hardship license following a first offense allows restricted driving privileges for six months of the suspension period.
The hardship license also allows you to drive to and from school or work and to and from a court-ordered treatment program and for necessary medical emergencies. If you were pulled over because an officer suspected that you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time and you refused to submit to a chemical test, you cannot receive a hardship license.
You will have to wait for your suspension period to expire before the license can be reinstated. In the event that the state decides to award you a hardship license, you will be required to file proof of financial responsibility in the form of an insurance policy with the Texas BMV. Furthermore, you will have to pay a license reinstatement fee of $130 before you are given a hardship license.
A hardship license may be especially helpful if you need to get to work or other places and having your license suspended could lead to significant consequences such as the loss of your job. You will need to have the appropriate documentation gathered and ensure that you have met all the necessary requirements before requesting to get the hardship license. The right lawyer is vital for the establishment of meeting these requirements and to give you peace of mind.