Attorneys For DWI Offenses In Fort Bend County

DWI Defense Lawyers in Sugar Land, TX

If you were pulled over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Fort Bend County or Harris County, it’s important to seek legal representation immediately. A DWI conviction in Texas can result in the loss of driving privileges, jail time, fines, and mandatory enrollment in an alcohol education class. It can also adversely affect your reputation, career, and personal relationships.

Rely on Seasoned DWI Defense

Whether this is your first DWI or you’re a repeat offender, you are entitled to a strong defense. 

At Segura and Kiatta, LLP, our DWI defense attorneys have over five decades of combined experience fighting for the rights of the criminally accused throughout Southeast Texas. We will work tirelessly to get the charges against you dismissed or reduced, or at the very least minimize the impact of serious penalties. 

Anthony Segura David Kiatta and are pleased to offer a FREE initial consultation to discuss your legal rights and options. Call 281-570-6400 today!

Keep Your Driver’s License 

You have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation Hearing (ALR). DWI lawyers Segura and Kiatta can represent you at this hearing and dispute your license suspension before an Administrative Law Judge. 

How to Beat a DWI Charge in Texas

No matter how hopeless your case may seem, there are a number of defense strategies that are effective in DWI cases, some of which include: 

  • Challenging the legality of traffic stop and arrest — did the police officer have probable cause to stop your vehicle and/or arrest you?  
  • Questioning the validity of the BAC test results – was the breath test administered properly? Was the breathalyzer machine properly calibrated? 
  • Discrediting the field sobriety test results — do you have a medical problem that inhibited your coordination? Did the police officer fail to follow proper protocol?
  • Scrutinizing whether your constitutional rights were violated (i.e. illegal search and seizure)

Get A Trusted Legal Advocate on Your Side Today

If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI in Fort Bend County or Harris County, you need to act quickly to protect your rights. Call Segura and Kiatta, LLP to schedule a free consultation with one of our exceptional DWI lawyers. 

More On Texas DWI Charges – Driving While Intoxicated

A person commits the crime of DWI if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.  “Intoxicated” means not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.

Intoxication may be proven with respect to (a) physical faculties; (b) mental faculties or (c) alcohol concentration.  The State need only prove one of the above.

Fort Bend – Harris County- DWI Punishments

Driving While Intoxicated is a class B misdemeanor with a range of punishments from 3 to 180 days in jail and a fine not to exceed $2,000.00. However, Texas law increases punishment for persons with prior DWI convictions. An individual who pleads “guilty” or “no contest” to a DWI charge may not receive deferred adjudication.

First DWI Offense

A first offense DWI is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and 3 to 180 days incarceration in the county jail and license suspension of 90 days to 1 year.

  • If an open container of alcohol is present in the vehicle, the minimum term of confinement increases to 6 days.
  • If the person had an alcohol concentration of .15 or more, the offense is a class A misdemeanor with a fine of up to $4,000.00 and up to 1-year confinement.

In most circumstances, a person convicted of DWI for the first time will not be required to spend time in jail but will, upon his timely application, receive community supervision (probation). The maximum term of probation is 2 years. As a condition of probation, the person will be ordered to:

  • pay a fine, report to a probation officer,
  • perform community service,
  • abstain from the use of alcohol and
  • attend a DWI education course.

In addition, a person’s driver’s license may be suspended for up to 1 year. However, if you receive community supervision and take the court-ordered DWI course you will be able to keep your license.

  • If an open container of alcohol is present in the passenger compartment, the minimum period of confinement is increased from 3 to 6 days
  • If an analysis of a specimen of breath or blood shows an alcohol concentration of .15 or greater, the offense becomes a Class A Misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine not to exceed $4,000.

Second Offense

A second DWI is a class A misdemeanor that carries a fine of up to $4,000 and 30 days to 1-year incarceration plus license suspension.  A person convicted of a second offense is eligible for community supervision (probation) but will be required to serve a minimum of three days in jail as a condition of community supervision. In addition, the person may be restricted to the operation of a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device.

Interlock Device

The interlock is a breath alcohol testing device which is connected to a car’s ignition system. Before starting the car, the driver must blow into the device which then analyzes the specimen to determine the alcohol content. If the alcohol content is above the specified amount, the vehicle will not start.

Similarly, at random intervals, while the vehicle is being operated, the interlock will request additional breath specimens for analysis. All test results are recorded and available to court personnel.

A second DWI which is punished as a class A misdemeanor but for which probation is not granted will result in an automatic suspension of not less than 180 days or more than one year.

Third Offense – Felony

If a person is convicted of a third DWI and it is shown that he has previously been convicted of two or more offenses relating to the operation of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, the person is guilty of a third-degree felony which carries a range of confinement in the penitentiary for not less than 2 years nor more than 10 years plus a fine not to exceed $10,000.

In the event community supervision is granted, the individual will still be required to do a minimum of 10 days in jail as part of his probation.  The period of license suspension is up to 2 years.

Additional DWI Offenses

Intoxication Assault

Intoxication Assault is a third-degree felony punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and not less than 2 years nor more than 10 years in prison. In the event a probated sentence is granted, a minimum 30 days in jail is required as a condition of probation.

Intoxication Manslaughter

Intoxication Manslaughter is a felony of the second degree punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 and not less than 2 years nor more than 20 years in prison. A person granted probation is required to submit to 120 days in jail as a condition of that probation.

DPS Administrative Surcharge

In addition to criminal penalties, a person convicted of a first DWI will be required to pay a surcharge of $1,000.00 per year for three years as a condition to maintaining his license. The annual surcharge increases to $1,500 per year for a second or subsequent conviction within a 36 month period.  If the person is shown to have had an alcohol concentration of .16 or greater, the surcharge is $2,000 per year for three years.   Failure to pay the surcharge or enter into an installment payout agreement will result in the suspension of the license until all payments are made.

DWI Offenses Involving A Child Passenger

The crime of DWI with Child Passenger is committed when the person operates a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated and the vehicle is occupied by a passenger who is younger than 15 years of age.  DWI with Child Passenger is a state jail felony punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 and a term of confinement not less than 180 days nor more than 2 years.

Felony DWI

DWI is ordinarily a misdemeanor litigated in the county courts.  However, if a person has been convicted twice before of a DWI crime, the offense is a third-degree felony for which the district courts have jurisdiction.  Likewise, if a person has been previously convicted of Intoxication Manslaughter, the offense if a third-degree felony punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 and not less than 2 nor more than 10 years in prison.

Contact Us Experienced DWI Defense 

If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI in Fort Bend County or Harris County, you need to act quickly to protect your rights. Call Segura and Kiatta, LLP to schedule a free consultation with one of our exceptional DWI lawyers.