Theft Crimes Defense Lawyers in Sugar Land, TX
Being charged with theft is not something to take lightly. If convicted, you could face jail time, heavy fines, and probation. In Texas, theft is considered a crime of “moral turpitude.” Anyone who is found guilty of these crimes is often labeled dishonest and untrustworthy.
Having a conviction of theft on your record can wreak havoc on your life for years to come. It will serve as a “red flag” to potential employers, landlords, immigration officials, and others who have access to personal criminal records.
Fighting For Your Future
To fight theft charges effectively, you need a passionate legal advocate in your corner. At Segura and Kiatta, LLP, we provide tenacious defense for individuals accused of theft-related crimes in Fort Bend County and Harris County.
Our criminal defense lawyers have a successful track record of negotiating with prosecutors for lesser charges and reduced penalties as well as full case dismissals. If negotiation fails, they are always prepared to take a case to trial.
Theft Crimes in Fort Bend County and Harris County
Under Texas law, theft is defined as unlawfully appropriating property with the intent to deprive the owner of the property.
There are a wide range of criminal offenses that fall under the category of theft crime:
- Auto Theft
- Robbery / Aggravated Robbery
- Shoplifting / Retail Theft
- Theft by Check
Misdemeanor and Felony Theft Charges and Penalties
The severity of a theft charge is based on the value of property or services stolen. Texas classifies theft crimes
Petty theft (Class C Misdemeanor) – stolen items are less $100
- $500 fine
- Community service
Class B Misdemeanor Theft – stolen items are more than $100 but less than $750
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Fine up to $2,000
Class A Misdemeanor Theft – stolen items $750 or more but less than $2,500
- Up to one year in jail
- Fine up to $4,000
State Felony – stolen items $1,500 or more but less than $20,000,
- 180 days to two years of in a state jail,
- fine up to $10.000
Felony of the Third Degree Theft – items stolen $20,000 or more but less than $100,000
- 2-10 years imprisonment
- Fine up to $10,000
Felony of the Second Degree Theft — items stolen $100,000 or more but less than $200,000
- 2-20 years imprisonment
- Fine up to $10,000
Fighting Theft Charges in TX
Common defenses used to fight theft charges in TX may include:
- Lack of Intent
- Right of ownership of property
- Property returned
- Illegal search and seizure